lady bugs

Ladybug

Nearly all cultures believe that a ladybug is lucky. Killing one is said to bring sadness and misfortune. Legends vary about how the Ladybug came to be named, but the most common (and enduring) is this: In Europe, during the Middle Ages, swarms of insects were destroying the crops. The farmers prayed to the Virgin Mary for help. Soon thereafter the Ladybugs came, devouring the plant-destroying pests and saving the crops! The farmers called these beautiful insects “The Beetles of Our Lady”, and – over time – they eventually became popularly known as “Lady Beetles”. The red wings were said to represent the Virgin’s cloak and the black spots were symbolic of both her joys and her sorrows. In some Asian cultures, it is believed that the Ladybug understands human language, and has been blessed by God, Himself. If a Ladybug is held in the hand while making a wish, the direction that it flies away to shows where your luck will come from. In France, if a Ladybug landed on you, whatever ailment you had would fly away with the Ladybug. Thus, this myth or legend of the ladybug brings me to something quite beautiful that happened today. I was in the park, playing with my girls. I thought to myself, as I felt the breeze on my cheeks, how “not in the moment” I usually am when taking trips to the park. Or really, doing anything with my girls. How I get annoyed very easily. How I only think of what needs to be done next, then next, then next…Yet today something in me changed. I felt ok in the moment. In this moment of sweet wind blowing, giggles, sand, playing and BEING. Guess what happened immediately after I sensed this presence of the “here and now?” It should come as no surprise. First one lady bug, then another! Near me, exactly where I stood. Then on my hands and arms. Already being somewhat familiar with ladybug lore, I laughed to myself. I told my sponsor this week that “doing the next right thing” and “living one day (moment) at a time”, brings clarity of purpose. This is not a coincidence. I won’t let it be just that. I’m in awe of this Higher Power and the ways She speaks to me, reassures me, loves me. December 29, 90 days of sobriety. Thank you little lady bug for letting me know I will get there just fine.

2 thoughts on “lady bugs

  1. First, congratulations on 90 days!! I am so thankful that you were in the moment…it is a gift & a precious treasure to hold unto for decades when making memories w/your girls.
    I think you know that your mom has been quite fond of ladybugs for years. Yet, I did not know their full story( ie, the name from the Middle Ages, etc). Thank you for that informatiion; I love history, even about insects 🙂
    Counting the hours til seeeing you…much love, mom

Leave a Reply

