Psalm 23

imagePsalm 23:
“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.”
I prayed this Monday night over and over until I found some small but profound peace. My first day at the outpatient program and the helpers wanted to “hospitalize” me. Because of my obvious hopelessness. But I convinced them otherwise. I am so grateful for my ability to pray and my belief in a higher power. For when you walk through the valley of death ( in my case, the residue of addiction, my own personal hell) you need a voice that comforts you. Also to believe that I have nothing to fear strengthens me as I walk this journey. Greater is the force of love, light and benevolence than the dark tunnels of my sick diseased mind. I pray. And I pray. And I fall to the floor like a child begging for my life. Psalm has always been my favorite part of the Bible. The words rescued me Monday night.

One thought on “Psalm 23

Leave a Reply

