Why alcoholics beat themselves up

NY Times piece resonates with why I fall so easily into self-loathing. The idea that alcoholism is a weak person’s struggle, that persistent “Why can’t you control yourself?” opinion many in our society continue to hold. The ignorance about addiction, especially alcoholism, perpetuates in the alcoholic her sense of self-doubt, failure of will, and leaves me always wondering silently “what’s the matter with me?” Not sure a cancer patient feels the same angst over her disease or same doubts surrounding her will-power. I’m not advocating that cancer is addiction, but both are clearly diseases that we know in this age of advanced medicine and science must be treated as such. I cannot heal myself fully, be happy in recovery, with such stigma hanging over my alcoholism.

Read this:

Leave a Reply

