No Sympathy for the Devil

 

140811192127-02-robin-williams-restricted-horizontal-gallery

 

 

An obvious evil lurking in the depths of humankind is sometimes felt too strongly by my fellow addicts.   I know in the wake of the tragic death of Robin Williams, I recognized the name of this beast because I’ve lived with it at bay for a while. Yet Williams’ wolf howled too loudly, incessantly I bet, and he couldn’t NOT hear it.   He tried for a long time, I guess, to keep that force of darkness at bay too.  But some of us aren’t able to live with the exhausting pain.  I know this because I am familiar with its power.  This nameless thing the Rolling Stones sing about waits for me (us) to get complacent.  It waits and waits, maybe twenty years , when I’ve forgotten my disease and life has blessed me too much, and then this nameless thing consumes the soul all at once. Years in the dark void, only to reacquaint with my troubled heart.  Meeting the devil occurs at our most vulnerable, it creeps inside, but it always asks for an invitation first…the acquiescence of hope.  Don’t give him the benefit.   Hold fast to hope and the promise of an easier tomorrow.  It’s never all sunshine and rainbows for me (us) but I swear to God the clouds part eventually and I see the light.  If for a brief interlude, it reminds me that life can be beautiful and a loving force exists and wants me to be happy, joyful and free.   Some unfortunate souls yield to the momentary  hopelessness.  And it breaks all our hearts.  Those of us familiar with the struggle between light and dark especially.

Please allow me to introduce myself
I’m a man of wealth and taste
I’ve been around for a long, long year
Stole many a man’s soul to waste

And I was ’round when Jesus Christ
Had his moment of doubt and pain
Made damn sure that Pilate
Washed his hands and sealed his fate

Pleased to meet you
Hope you guess my name
But what’s puzzling you
Is the nature of my game
Pleased to meet you
Hope you guessed my name, oh yeah
But what’s confusing you
Is just the nature of my game

Just as every cop is a criminal
And all the sinners saints
As heads is tails
Just call me Lucifer
‘Cause I’m in need of some restraint

So if you meet me
Have some courtesy
Have some sympathy, and some taste
Use all your well-learned politesse
Or I’ll lay your soul to waste

Leave a Reply

